Quality & Testing

Quality and safety go hand-in-hand. This is especially evident in the nuclear industry, where the reliable handling and lifting of sensitive materials is paramount to operational safety. Highly specialized cranes must be designed to the strictest quality standards and contain redundant systems to prevent load drops due to a single system failure. 

At American Crane, we offer a three-pronged quality assurance program specifically designed to ensure safe and efficient operation in nuclear facilities in compliance with:

  • Nuclear Quality Assurance-1 (ASME NQA-1)
  • 10 CFR 50 Appendix B
  • American Crane’s Nuclear Quality Program (QAM-96), which addresses 18 different elements of nuclear quality

Our rigorous quality assurance program has delivered single-failure-proof cranes, trolleys, and other related equipment to nuclear and other potentially dangerous, high-risk facilities across a range of fields. 

American Crane’s Quality Program 

A quality assurance program is only as good as its implementation. We have strategically put industry experts in charge of our various quality processes. The program, which is led by our knowledgeable management team of engineers, utilizes the team’s experience in designing specific control programs and quality checks to ensure that testing and inspections are held to the highest safety standards. 

Additionally, our AWS D1.1 qualified welders oversee our in-house non-destructive weld testing using procedures in accordance with AWS D14.1 and several other industry standards.

RI NP-5652 certified program ensures that all materials are dedicated commercial-grade items suitable for use in safety-related nuclear applications. Our team also has the capability to perform ASME NOG-1 compliant inspection and testing during all stages of crane construction. 

American Crane’s robust quality assurance program was also co-developed and reviewed by our staff members with experience working for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). Our thoroughly audited quality process has enabled us to join the ranks of approved supplier on several nuclear and DOE customer lists. 

Augmented Quality Program

American Crane’s augmented quality program provides customers with unique quality solutions to meet the requirements of most industrial applications. Our program implements several key controls in areas ranging from procurement and fabrication to inspection and testing, all aimed with maintaining compliance with the strictest nuclear industry standards. 

Some of our other services include:

  • Consulting, specifically as it relates to quality assurance 
  • Commercial-grade dedication training

Quality control, quality assurance, and testing are crucial to the crane manufacturing process. These elements, when used together, can help reduce rework and minimize the possibility of risk in unsafe situations. 

If you would like to learn more about our quality assurance and testing programs, contact us today.